Morrison House Complex

A completely restored eighteenth century farmhouse, the Morrison House Museum was moved to Pillsbury Road from Rockingham Road in 1989 to avoid demolition. The house was originally built in 1760 and was owned by a well respected family, the Morrisons, who were some of the first settlers in town in 1719. It continues to boast some of its original features, like a fireplace with beehive ovens and brick hearth.

The house now serves as a museum for Londonderry artifacts. These include the running horse weathervane from the Robie House, early muskets and a fragment of silk from Ocean Born Mary’s wedding dress. The museum also houses flax and linen related items, as Londonderry was a center for the production of these products. A flax wheel, hetchels and a loom, as well as country furnishings, children’s items and more can be found at the museum.

The Morrison House Museum sits on about two acres of land, donated by the Mack Family, owners of Mack’s Apples, and is surrounded by a circa 1840 blacksmith shop and 1859 barn. The Clark Blacksmith Shop, which was moved to its present location in 1998, contains many of the 19th century tools and early iron objects that would have been used in New Hampshire.

The 1859 Parmenter Barn, also relocated to its current location in 1998, is a true example of a Yankee post and beam dairy barn. It is the last barn in Londonderry that was assembled through a community barn-raising.

A true landmark in Londonderry, the Morrison House Museum reminds residents and visitors of the town’s heritage and cultural beginnings. Visit the museum on Pillsbury Road near the Londonderry Presbyterian Church and Moose Hill School. Browse this map for more complete directions.